Keretapi Tanah Melayu

KTM is the main rail operator in Peninsular Malaysia. The total length of KTM network is 1,677 km. The 1,000 mm gauge railway network in Peninsular Malaysia which is controlled by KTM consists of two main lines and several branch lines.

The lines operated by KTM consist:

  • West Coast Main Line (Gemas-JB section is under upgrade to electrified double track)
  • East Coast Main Line (single track)
  • Port Klang Line (electrified double track)
  • Batu Caves Line (electrified double track)
  • Skypark Line (electrified double track)

ETS is an intercity electric train service operated by KTM using new completed West Coast double track electrification project between Gemas, Negeri Sembilan and Padang Besar, Perlis. This service connecting Kuala Lumpur to cities like Ipoh, Butterworth, Seremban and Alor Setar.

There are several lines provided by ETS:

  • Gemas-KL Sentral-Butterworth
  • Gemas-KL Sentral-Padang Besar
  • Gemas-Butterworth-Padang Besar
  • KL Sentral-Sungai Buloh-Ipoh

KTM ETS route map:

KTM Intercity

KTM Intercity is an intercity passenger train service between cities in Malaysia. The train used for this service is run by diesel. This service is for when you are going south to Kluang, Johor Bahru or east to Kuala Lipis, Kota Bharu. KTM Intercity services consist of local trains and express trains; lines along the West Coast Main Line (Gemas-JB) currently support mostly express trains, while those along the East Coast Line include both local train and express train services.

There are 3 lines provided by KTM Intercity:

  • JB Sentral-Tumpat
  • JB Sentral-Pulau Sebang/Tampin
  • JB Sentral-Woodlands

KTM Intercity route map:

KTM Komuter

KTM Komuter is an electrified commuter rail service first introduced in 1995, catering especially to commuters in Kuala Lumpur and the surrounding suburban areas. KTM Komuter provides 248 commuter services daily, serving 45 stations along 175 km route. In 2016, KTM launch their service in northern region (Padang Rengas to Padang Besar).

The KTM Komuter network consists of 4 lines:

  • Seremban Line
  • Port Klang Line
  • Butterworth Line
  • Padang Rengas Line

Klang Valley’s KTM Komuter route map:

KTM Skypark Link

Skypark Link is a limited express train service between KL Sentral and Subang Airport. It is Malaysia’s second airport rail link service, after the KLIA Ekspres. The service shares the same tracks as the Port Klang Line between KL Sentral and Subang Jaya, however they diverge after Subang Jaya, with one set of tracks heading towards Subang Airport and the other towards Port Klang. Ordinary Port Klang Line trains stops at all stations between KL Sentral and Subang Jaya, while the Skypark Link runs non-stop between them. The Skypark Link is operated by KTM.

These are website where you can get your ticket online :